SASTRI (Eq. to B.A) : 

An undergraduate programme in different sastras, it provides the students opportunity to acquire moderate understanding of selected sastra and selected conventional & Vocational courses.

In accordance with National Education Policy (NEP) -2020, the UG Programmes of NSU are designed with multiple exits at the end of I Year, II year, III year and IV year.

  1. One who exits at the end of the first year will be issued Certificate in the Specialized and concerned Subjects.
  2. One who exits at the end of II year will be issued a Diploma in the Specialized and concerned Subjects.
  3. One who exits at the end of the third year will be issued 3year UG certificate.
  4. One who successfully completes the four years of UG will be issued UG (Honors) certificate.
  5.       No. of seats : 211
  6.       Duration : 6/8 Semesters
  7.      Age : Minimum 17 years (as on 01-06-2021)
  8.      Eligibility : Pass in any one of the following examinations as in 10+2 pattern.
  9. (a) Prak-Sastri of 1) Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha (NSU) , Tirupati
    • 2) Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan, New Delhi
  10. (b) Uttara Madhyama of 1) Sampurnananda Sanskrit University, Varanasi,
  11. 2) Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan, New Delhi.
  12. (c) Madhyama of Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi.
  13. (d) Varishtopadhyaya of Rajasthan Board of Intermediate Education, Ajmer.
  14. (e) Upasastri of 1) Shri Jagannath Sanskrit University, Puri.
  15. 2) Kameshwar Singh Sanskrit University, Darbhanga
  16. (f) Sahitya of Karnataka State.
  17. (g) Veda Vibhushan of Maharshi Sandipani Rashtriya Sanskrit Vedavidya Pratishtan, Ujjain
  18. (h) (1) Intermediate or equivalent examination with Sanskrit or Vichakshana of Samskrita Bhasha Pracharini Sabha, Chittoor or any other exam. of + 2 stage in 10+2+3 Pattern conducted by a State Board/University/Institute recognized by University.
  19. (2) Equivalent course without Sanskrit at plus 2 stage but having knowledge of Sanskrit subject to the passing of the entrance test conducted by the University.
  20. (3) Candidates possessing Intermediate are also eligible to join the programme subject to the condition of passing the Diploma programmes in Sanskrit conducted by the N.S.University, Tirupati.

Scheme of study :

  • Part I : (a) 1st Language – English
  • (b) 2nd Language – Telugu/Hindi/Sanskrit
  • (c) History of Vedic & Classical Sanskrit Literature
  • (d) Environmental Studies
  • Part II  : Three Electives :

1st Elective (any one) from the following sastras :

  • Sahitya (66)
  • Vyakarana (40)
  • Phalitha Jyotisha(17)  
  • Siddhanta Jyotisha (11)
  • Vastu (11)
  • Nyaya (11)
  • Advaita Vedanta (11)
  • Visistadvaita Vedanta (11)
  • Dvaita Vedanta (11)
  • Mimamsa (11)
  • Agama (11)
  • Dharmasastra(11)

(Note : The numbers in the brackets indicate the number of seats in each sastra.)

2nd Elective (any one) from the following Conventional Courses:

  1. English Literature
  2. Telugu Literature
  3. Hindi Literature
  4. Vedic Literature
  5. History
  6. Computer Applications

3rd Elective (any one) from the following Vocational courses:

  1. Archakatva & Pourohitya  
  2. Yoga & Meditation
  3. Spiritual Tourism*    
  4. Puranapravachana
  5. Communicative English
  6. Sanskrit & Management
  7. Dramaturgy*
  8. Music (Carnatic Vocal only)
  9. Dance (Bharatanatyam)
  10. Communicative Sanskrit
  11. Vasthu Sastra
  12. Moral Education*
  13. Environmental Education
  14. Health Education
  15. Physical Education
  16. Mental ability & Quantitative Aptitude*
  17. Translation

Note : The Maximum number of seats in each vocational course is twenty five.