1957: Sanskrit Commission Recommended for Establishment of Sanskrit Institution.

1961: Kendriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha Society, Tirupati Constituted 

1962: Foundation Stone Laid by the then Vice-President of India  Dr.S.Radhakrishnan on fourth January

Forty two acres of land leased out by the Tirumala Tirupati Desvasthanams (TTD) Trust, then headed by Executive Officer, Dr.C.Anna Rao along with a munificient donation of Rs.10 lacs towards construction of buildings.

1971: Kendriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha came under the aegis of Rashtriya Sanskrit  Sansthan– an autonomous body under the   Ministry of Education in April 1971

1987: Elevated its status to that of a Deemed University the Name was Changed as Rashtriya Sanskrit vidhyapeetha.

During the Silver Jubilee celebrations in 1987, Sri P.V.Narasimha Rao, the then  Union Minister of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India announced the decision of the Government to elevated its status to that of a Deemed University.

1989- The Deemed University was formally inaugurated by the then President of India Sri R. Venkataraman on 26th August, 1989.

1991-92: The Vidyapeetha started functioning as a Deemed University from the academic year

2020: Elevated its status to that of a Central University from April 30, 2020. The Name is Changed as  National Sanskrit University 

From – To

Sri Patanjali Sastry,

      former Chief Justice of India


Prof. V. Raghavan,

      a reputed Indologist


Sri M. Ananthasayanam Ayyangar,

      former Speaker of Lok Sabha.

04Dr. B. R. Sharma1962 to 1970.
01Sri Venkata Raghavacharya, 
02Dr. Mandan Mishra 
03Dr. R. Karunakaran 
04Dr. M. D.  Balasubramanyam 
05Prof. N. S. Ramanuja Tatacharya 
01M. M. Sri Pattabhirama Sastri 
02Prof. Ramaranjan Mukherjee 
03Dr. V. R. Panchamukhi 
04Dr. J. B. Pattnaik 
05N.Gopalaswami I.A.S(Retd.) 
01Prof. N. S. Ramanuja Tatacharya 
02Prof. S. B. Raghunathacharya 
03Prof. D. Prahladachar 
04Prof. Harekrishna Satapathy2006-2015
05Prof. V. Muralidhara SharmaJan 2017-Jan 2022
05Prof. G S R Krishna MurtySep 2022- Till date